curml
| Français |
Who are we? Services Training and research Links News FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)
Who are we?
Unit of Forensic Medicine (UMF)
Forensic Toxicology and Chemistry Unit (UTCF)
Forensic Genetics Unit (UGF)
Unit of Psychology and Traffic Medicine (UMPT)
Swiss Laboratory for Doping Analyses (LAD)
Violence Medical Unit (UMV)
Forensic Psychiatry (PL)
Medical Law, Ethics, Humanitarian Medicine (DMMH)
Library (BIBL)
CURML publications
Administration (ADM)
Home < Who are we? Access PlanSitemapPrint

The CURML welcomes you to its website!

  • Centre universitaire romand de médecine légale,
    Lausanne - Genève (CURML)
  • University Center of Legal Medicine,
    Lausanne - Geneva
  • Universitätszentrum für Rechtsmedizin,
    Lausanne - Genf

Introduction

On 1st October 2007, the University Institutes of Legal Medicine of the Faculty of Medicine of Geneva and the Faculty of Biology and Medicine of Lausanne merged to become the University Centre of Legal Medicine (CURML).

Located on the two University Hospital sites of Lausanne and Geneva, the Centre employs around 140 people in the following seven specialist units: Forensic medicine (one of the branches of forensic science and a term sometimes used instead of legal medicine); Traffic Medicine and Psychology; Violence Medicine, Legal Psychiatry; Medical Law, Ethics and Humanitarian Medicine; Forensic Genetics; Forensic Toxicology and Chemistry; and the Swiss Laboratory for Doping Analyses.

Through the versatility of its skill sets, the Centre is able to respond to requests for expertise, assistance and advice in the fields of legal medicine, medical law and doping analysis. Based in the Lake Geneva area, its influence extends not only locally and regionally, but also at a national and international level.

Forensic medicine is an evolving discipline that relies more and more on the most up-to-date scientific techniques in the fields of biomedical imaging, molecular biology, and analytical toxicology. Its evolution over recent years has been summarized in an article published in the Swiss Journal of Medicine. Forensic medicine and forensic science have also benefited from a special media promotion through television series and crime fiction.

The Centre works essentially with legal authorities and the police, cantonal administrations responsible for road traffic management, national and international sports federations, the World Anti-Doping Agency, the International Olympic Committee, public and private international institutions (United Nations, World Health Organization, UN High Commissioner for Refugees, Council of Europe, International Criminal Court, as well as non-governmental organizations such as the International Committee of the Red Cross, Amnesty international, Physicians for Human Rights, Alkarama for Human Rights) where the Centre’s expertise can play a part in resolving problems.

Because of its University nature, the Centre is also actively involved in teaching and continuing education, as well as research in all areas within its scope. The aim of this site is not only to inform the public about the activities and skills of our Centre, but also, through a description of the missions of this academic institution, to provide insight into the attraction, diversity and complexity of the discipline of legal medicine.

Professor Patrice Mangin, Director, (CV, Wikipedia)

- News in brief from Spring 2013 to Winter 2013 - 2014

- Dr Silke Grabherr was appointed on January 1st as clinical doctor, Privat-Docent and head of the new forensic imaging unit of the CURML. Since January 1st, Dr Silke Grabherr is also secretary (Schriftführerin) of the German society of forensic medicine (DGRM). In addition, Dr Silke Grabherr acquired a Leenaards grant in 2012 for future academics of clinical medicine of UNIL-CHUV.

-You are sincerely welcome to attend the 23nd International Meeting on Forensic Medicine Alpe-Adria-Pannonia which will be held in Lausanne, Switzerland, from June 26 to 28, 2014. Further information, online registration and accommodation about this event is now available at http://fr.amiando.com/aap2014.html. We would like to remind you that the abstract submission deadline is April 30, 2014 and registration deadline is May 31, 2014.

This meeting will be an excellent opportunity to learn about the most recent advances in legal medicine with its workshops, lectures and oral presentations. We would like to inform you that the scientific program of the congress as well as the pre-congress workshops can also be reached from the meeting website.

- Press factsheet,| Lausanne, November 10, 2013 - Factsheet on forensics report concerning the late President Yasser Arafat (pdf, 67ko).

- During the elections that took place at the meeting of the Swiss Society of Forensic Medicine, Saturday, November 10, 2012 in Zurich-Kloten, Dr. Marc Augsburger was elected Vice President while remaining chairman of the toxicology section. On the other hand, Prof. Michael Thali, director of the Forensic Institute in Zurich, has been renewed for two years as president. Moreover, the CURML was distinguished by the number of collaborators at the executive committee. Dr.Marc Bollmann is the new chairman of the Forensic Medicine section. Dr.Vincent Castella remains President of the Section of Forensic Genetics.

- Since November 2012, a new outpost of the Violence Medical Unit of the CURML is on operational duties at the Hospital of Yverdon-les-Bains.

- At the last meeting of the IALM (International Academy of Legal Medicine) in Istanbul, Turkey in July 2012, Prof. Patrice Mangin, director of the CURML, was appointed Vice-President of the Academy. Dr. Tony Fracasso, head of theForensic Medicine Unit at the site of Geneva, was made treasurer of the society. Founded in 1938, in Bonn (Germany), the IALM is the oldest and most famous scientific association with international scope in the sphere of Legal Medicine and the Forensic Sciences.

- Following the request of the Centre of Legal Medicine in Western Switzerland (CURML), the Institute of radiation physics (IRA) has conducted measurements of radioactivity on the personal effects of the former President of the Palestinian Authority, Mr. Yasser Arafat. The institute studied Arafat’s personal effects, which his widow Mrs Suha Arafat provided to Qatar-based broadcaster Al Jazeera, the first time they would have been examined by a laboratory. The results of all the measurements conducted were negative, except for those relating to Polonium-210. The interpretation of these measurements is difficult, because the measured values are low and the normal reference levels are imperfectly known.

- From April 2012, under a new agreement with the Canton of Valais, a unit of forensic medicine is open in Sion (Valais) in the town hospital which is part of the Health Network of Valais (RSV). Autopsies aside, many of the tasks of a forensic pathology unit will be made on site by the incumbent forensic pathologist Dr Bettina Schrag who, while being appointed senior physician at the Hospital of Sion, will remain affiliated to the CURML. In the field of forensic toxicology, there is also a collaboration agreement between the department of Clinical Chemistry and Toxicology of the ICHV in Sion and the UTCF of the CURML. The incumbent toxicologist is Mr. Nicolas Donze, FAMH and SSML toxicologist.



- Non-exhaustive list of interventions by the centre

  • International institutions:
    • Intervention in East Timor, 2000, United Nations
    • Guantanamo, 2006, Alkarama for Human Rights
    • Council of Europe, European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT), 2007
    • Former Yugoslavia, International Criminal Court, 1998 – 2000

  • Major disasters:
  • Affairs
    • Lady Diana, 1997, France
    • Cédric Tornay, 1998, Vatican
    • Judge Bernard Borel, 2002, Djibouti
    • Gendarme Jambert, 2004, France
    • Tommaso Onofri, 2007, Italy
    • Yasser Arafat, 2012-2013, Palestine



Forthcoming continuing education seminars


On Wednesdays once or twice a month, on the Geneva or Lausanne site, a guest speaker gives a talk on a topical subject of legal medicine or a related theme.

To find out more :

Upcoming CURML seminars

This month's news

Maps and ways of access

Registration (pdf, 219ko)

23rd International Meeting on Forensic Medicine Alpe-Adria-Pannonia Lausanne, June 26-28, 2014

3rd Virtangio workshop 7-8 September 2014 in Hambourg/Germany

2nd International Training for Radiographers in Forensic Radiology 10th and 11th November 2014, Lausanne (pdf, 505ko)

November 7, 2013: Arafat Press conference

Factsheet Arafat

Shortcuts

- Paternity testing

- Doping (LAD)

- Vacancies

- Next seminar

- CURML publications

- The CURML on the CHUV website

- Webcam, CHUV and CURML

- français

Site profiles

- Lausanne

- Geneva

- The Lake Geneva Region

- Geneva and surrounding area

- Lausanne and surrounding area

CURML, Lausanne (pdf, 161ko)

CURML, Lausanne, Psychology and Traffic Medicine (UMPT) (pdf, 250ko)

CURML, Geneva (pdf, 254ko)

scene de crime

Reconstruction of a crime scene (doc: CEMCAV-CHUV, P. Dutoit)

 

Last Update on 06.03.2014

back to the top of the page

curml
| English |
Qui sommes-nous Prestations Formation et recherche Liens Actualités F.A.Q (Foire aux Questions)
Qui sommes-nous
Unité de médecine forensique (UMF)
Unité de toxicologie et chimie forensiques (UTCF)
Unité de génétique forensique (UGF)
Unité de médecine et psychologie du trafic  (UMPT)
Laboratoire suisse d'analyse du dopage (LAD)
Unité de médecine des violences (UMV)
Psychiatrie légale (PL)
Droit médical et médecine humanitaire (DMMH)
Bibliothèque (BIBL)
Publications du CURML
Administration (ADM)
Home < Qui sommes-nous Plan d'accèsPlan du siteImprimer

Le CURML vous souhaite la bienvenue sur son site web!

  • Centre universitaire romand de médecine légale,
    Lausanne - Genève (CURML)
  • University Center of Legal Medicine,
    Lausanne - Geneva
  • Universitätszentrum für Rechtsmedizin,
    Lausanne - Genf

Présentation


Le 1er octobre 2007, les Instituts universitaires de médecine légale de la Faculté de médecine de Genève et de la Faculté de biologie et de médecine de Lausanne fusionnaient pour donner naissance au Centre universitaire romand de médecine légale (CURML).

Situé sur les deux sites hospitalo-universitaires de Lausanne et de Genève, ce centre dispose d’un effectif d’environ 140 collaborateurs dont les activités s’exercent au sein de sept unités spécialisées que sont la médecine forensique (l'anglicisme « médecine forensique » ("forensic medicine"), l'une des branches des « sciences forensiques » ("forensic science") est parfois utilisé en lieu et place de médecine légale), la médecine et psychologie du trafic, la médecine des violences, la psychiatrie légale, le droit médical et la médecine légale humanitaire, la génétique forensique, la toxicologie et la chimie forensiques et le laboratoire suisse d’analyse du dopage.

De par la polyvalence de ses compétences, ce centre a vocation à répondre à toutes les demandes d’expertises ou d’assistance-conseil dans le domaine médico-légal, du droit médical et de l’analyse du dopage. Situé au niveau de l’arc lémanique, son domaine de compétences s’exerce tant au niveau local que régional, national et international.

La médecine légale est une discipline en pleine évolution qui fait de plus en plus appel aux techniques d'investigation les plus modernes dans les domaines de l'imagerie biomédicale, de la biologie moléculaire et de la toxicologie analytique. Son évolution au cours de ces dernières années a été résumée dans un article paru en 2008 dans la Revue suisse de médecine. La médecine légale et les sciences forensiques ont également bénéficié d’une extraordinaire promotion médiatique à travers les séries télévisées et la littérature policière.

Les interlocuteurs du CURML sont représentés pour l’essentiel par les autorités judiciaires et de police, les administrations cantonales notamment en charge de la circulation routière, les fédérations sportives nationales et internationales, l’agence mondiale anti-dopage, le Comité international olympique, les institutions internationales publiques ou privées (Nations-Unies, Organisation mondiale de la santé, Haut commissariat aux Réfugiés, Conseil de l’Europe, Cour pénale internationale et organisations non gouvernementales telles que le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge, Amnesty international, Physicians for Human rights, Alkarama for Human rights) ayant à résoudre un problème relevant de la compétence de ce centre.

De par sa nature universitaire, ce centre assure une activité d’enseignement et de formation continue ainsi qu’une activité de recherche dans tous les domaines qui sont les siens. Le but de ce site et non seulement d’informer le public sur les activités et compétences de notre centre, mais aussi de laisser entrevoir à travers un descriptif des missions de cette institution académique, l’attrait, la diversité et aussi la complexité de cette discipline que représente la médecine légale.

Professeur Patrice Mangin, Directeur (CV; english version), (CV, Wikipédia)


- Brèves Printemps 2013 à Hiver 2013 - 2014

- Mars 2014, le Dr Aurélien Thomas a été nommé Professeur assistant à l'UTCF.

- Le Dr Silke Grabherr a été promue médecin associé, Privat-Docent et responsable de la nouvelle unité d'imagerie forensique du CURML, à compter du 1er janvier 2014. Le Dr Silke Grabherr est également secrétaire (Schriftführerin) de la Société allemande de médecine légale (DGRM) depuis le 1er janvier 2014. Rappelons que le Dr Silke Grabherr est aussi récipiendaire d'une bourse Leenaards 2012 pour la relève académique en médecine clinique de l'UNIL-CHUV.

- Le Dr Martial Saugy, directeur du LAD, collaborateur du CURML, a été nommé professeur associé. Il a donné sa leçon inaugurale le 16 janvier 2014 à Lausanne au CHUV.

- Votre participation à la 23ème Réunion Internationale de Médecine Légale "Alpe-Adria-Pannonie" qui se tiendra à Lausanne, en Suisse, du 26 au 28 Juin 2014, est la bienvenue. Toutes les informations utiles concernant l'enregistrement en ligne et l'hébergement sont maintenant disponibles à l'adresse web: http://fr.amiando.com/aap2014.html. Relevons que la date limite de soumission des résumés est le 30 Avril 2014 et que la date limite d'inscription est le 31 mai 2014.

- Press factsheet,| Lausanne, November 10, 2013 - Factsheet on forensics report concerning the late President Yasser Arafat (pdf, 67ko).

- Lors des élections qui ont eu lieu lors de la réunion de la Société suisse de médecine légale samedi 10 novembre 2012 à Zürich-Kloten, le Dr Marc Augsburger a été élu vice-président tout en restant président de la section de toxicologie. D’autre part, le prof. Michael Thali, directeur de l'institut médico-légal de Zürich, a été renouvelé pour 2 ans au poste de président. Par ailleurs le CURML se distingue par le nombre de collaborateurs au niveau du comité de direction. Le Dr Marc Bollmann est le nouveau président de la médecine forensique. Le Dr Vincent Castella reste président de la section de génétique forensique.

- De janvier 2013 à décembre 2014, le CURML est partie prenante du Certificat d'études avancées (CAS) en psychiatrie forensique. Le CAS comprend 4 modules de formation et 14 journées de cours. Une journée d'information présentant le cursus aura lieu le mardi 25 septembre 2012 à 18h00. Pour des détails, contactez Mme Véronique Schwab.

- Grâce à un partenariat entre le Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois (CHUV) et l'Institut et haute école de la santé "La Source", à Lausanne, le Centre universitaire romand de médecine légale et son Unité de médecine des violences (UMV) proposent dès le début de l'année 2013 et aussi en 2014 une formation intitulée « Aspects et soins médico-légaux dans le domaine de la violence interpersonnelle (CAS HES-SO)». Cette formation est aussi décrite sur le site de la HES La Source.

- Le 1er novembre 2012, une nouvelle antenne de l'Unité de médecine des violences du CURML a débuté ses activités à l'Hôpital d'Yverdon-les-Bains.

- Au cours du dernier congrès (juillet 2012) de l'IALM (International Academy of Legal Medicine) à Istanbul en Turquie, le Prof. Patrice Mangin, directeur du CURML, a été nommé Vice-Président de l'Académie. Le Dr. Tony Fracasso, responsable de l'Unité de médecine forensique sur le site de Genève, a été désigné caissier de la société. Fondée en 1938, à Bonn (Allemagne), l'IALM est la société scientifique la plus ancienne et la plus célèbre d'envergure internationale dans le domaine de la médecine légale et des sciences forensiques.

- Sur mandat du Centre universitaire romand de médecine légale (CURML), l'Institut de radiophysique (IRA) a réalisé des mesures de radioactivité sur les affaires personnelles de l'ancien président de l'autorité palestinienne, M. Yasser Arafat. L'institut a examiné les effets personnels d'Arafat remis par sa veuve, Mme Suha Arafat, à la chaîne de télévision qatarie Al Jazeera, effets qui n'auraient jamais été investigués auparavant.Toutes les mesures se sont avérées négatives, sauf celles relatives au polonium-210. L'interprétation de ces résultats est difficile car les valeurs mesurées sont basses et les niveaux de référence normaux mal connus.

- Depuis avril 2012, dans le cadre d'une nouvelle convention avec le Valais, une antenne de médecine légale est ouverte à Sion au sein de l'Hôpital de Sion qui fait partie du Réseau Santé du Valais (RSV). Les autopsies mises à part, une bonne partie des tâches dévolues à une unité de pathologie forensique peuvent être effectuées sur place par la titulaire du poste, la Dresse Bettina Schrag, qui tout en étant nommée médecin-adjoint à l'Hôpital de Sion conserve une affiliation avec le CURML. Dans le domaine de la toxicologie forensique, il existe une convention de collaboration entre le service de chimie clinique et de toxicologie de l'ICHV à Sion et l'UTCF du CURML. Le répondant valaisan est M. Nicolas Donzé, FAMH et toxicologue SSML.

- Liste non exhaustive des interventions du centre

  • Institutions internationales:
    • Intervention au Timor Oriental, 2000, Nations-Unies
    • Guantanamo, 2006, Alkarama for Human rights
    • Conseil de l’Europe, Comité européen pour la prévention de la torture et des peines ou traitements inhumains ou dégradants (CPT), 2007
    • Ex-Yougoslavie, Tribunal pénal international, 1998 – 2000

  • Affaires:
    • Lady Diana, 1997, France
    • Cédric Tornay, 1998, Vatican
    • Juge Bernard Borel, 2002, Djibouti
    • Gendarme Jambert, 2004, France
    • Tommaso Onofri, 2007, Italie
    • Yasser Arafat, 2012-2013, Palestine



Prochains séminaires
de formation continue


Un ou deux mercredis par mois, sur le site de Genève ou Lausanne, un conférencier vient présenter un exposé sur un sujet actuel de médecine légale ou sur un thème apparenté.

Pour en savoir plus :

- Prochain exposé

- Calendrier des exposés du
  CURML

- Brève du mois

- Cartes et plans d'accès

Cours de Privat-Docent des P.D. Ario Conti et Silke Grabherr (janvier -> mai 2014) (pdf, 18ko)

Inscription (pdf, 219ko)

23rd International Meeting on Forensic Medicine Alpe-Adria-Pannonia Lausanne, June 26-28, 2014

3rd Virtangio workshop 7-8 September 2014 in Hambourg/Germany

2nd International Training for Radiographers in Forensic Radiology 10th and 11th November 2014, Lausanne (pdf, 505ko)

November 7, 2013: Arafat Press conference

Factsheet Arafat

Le Dr B. Christe, collaborateur à l'Unité de Médecine et Psychologie du Trafic du CURML, a publié un livre traitant  de l'évaluation des processus perceptivo-moteurs. Plus de détails en cliquant sur l'image (pdf, 176ko). Commande on-line.

formation UMV

L’Unité de Médecine des Violences (UMV) vous propose dès février 2013 un CAS « Aspects et soins médico-légaux dans le domaine de la violence interpersonnelle » en 2 modules, 14 jours de cours et 10 crédits ECTS. Renseignements auprès de Mme Muriel Depoisier Thaler.

Raccourcis

- Recherche en paternité

- Doping (LAD)

- Postes vacants

- Prochain exposé

- Publications du CURML

- Le CURML sur le site du CHUV

- Webcam, CHUV et CURML

- english

Aperçu des sites

- Lausanne

- Genève

- La Région Lémanique

- Genève et ses environs

- Lausanne et ses environs

CURML, site de Lausanne (pdf, 161ko)

CURML, Lausanne, Médecine et psychologie du trafic (UMPT) (pdf, 250ko)

CURML, site de Genève (pdf, 254ko)

scene de crime

Reconstitution d'une scène de crime (doc: CEMCAV-CHUV, P. Dutoit)

 

Dernière modification le 06.03.2014

retour haut de page