FAQ - Swiss Human Institute of Forensic Taphonomy (SHIFT)

Unit Presentation Unit services Education and Research

1. What is forensic taphonomy?

Forensic taphonomy is the study and use of processes associated with cadaveric decomposition for the documentation and resolution of forensic cases, both locally (homicide, mountain accident, ...) and internationally (mass disasters, climatic and conflict zones). For example, these processes are studied and used to estimate a postmortem interval (time between death and discovery of the body) or the location of mass graves (armed conflicts).

Forensic taphonomy is integrated into many scientific disciplines, relating to the body itself (anthropology, forensic medicine and imaging, etc.), the body in interaction with the soil, otherwise known as the "decomposition island" (toxicology, genetics, forensic macro- and microbiology, etc.), in relation to the detection of the body (botany, forensic geology and archaeology, location science, etc.). Ethical, socio-cultural, humanitarian and legal dimensions are also part of the process by which taphonomy orients its research.

Taphonomie

 

2. What is the purpose of forensic taphonomy research?

Recent events of global significance have highlighted the need for pragmatic research to improve methodologies for the search, location, and identification of victims of mass disasters of natural origin. 

These phenomena can be of different natures, for example, during volcanic eruptions (Ontake volcano in Japan, 2014), tsunamis (Sumatra in Indonesia, 2004), earthquakes (Mexico City in Mexico, 2017), floods (Queensland in Australia, 2013) or of anthropogenic origin such as nuclear (Fukushima in Japan, 2011), industrial (Qitaihe in China, 2016) or terrorist disasters (New York - September 11 in the USA, 2001).

The consequences of armed conflicts can also be of great interest to forensic taphonomy. Indeed, its methodologies are necessary for authorities and police investigations to locate and/or identify missing persons or victims of homicide.

Unfortunately, the possibilities to conduct appropriate research in Switzerland and in Europe are still lacking. 

The development of taphonomy is imperative in order to carry out scientific studies that will provide answers and thus contribute to the resolution of investigations, whether in Switzerland or elsewhere in the world, when Swiss intervention and assistance is required by states near or far that are affected by large-scale disasters.

 

3. Is taphonomy only of interest to the forensic sciences?

Forensic taphonomy is very important because of its operational side to characterize and document deaths during events of local (homicide, accident, etc.) or international (disasters) scale. 
However, human taphonomy remains much broader than forensic and humanitarian sciences. It remains a valuable tool in anthropology and traditional archaeology. It has important links with clinical medical sciences, biological and environmental sciences, geological sciences and location sciences.
Human taphonomy is also at the crossroads of human, religious, ethical and legal sciences to anticipate societal questions around our mortality. 

  • Why do bodies decompose badly in cemeteries?
  • What is the environmental burden (contamination, energy, etc.) of our burials (burial, cremation)?
  • Reflections around the deceased body and alternative burials (humusation/composting, aquamation, etc.)?

 

4. How to give your body to forensic science?

Our body belongs to us. It is part of our identity and we have full ownership of it. Thus, we can decide during our lifetime what will happen to our body in the context of a body donation.

Since the advent of medical science, body donation has always been seen as an altruistic and disinterested act, which allows scientific knowledge to progress and benefit future generations. 

You can find more information on body donation by clicking on the following link:  body donation 

 

5. Why use human bodies?

Currently, most scientists and law enforcement agencies use animal models to study decomposition processes. While this research contributes to new knowledge, the study of human bodies provides unique knowledge that cannot be extrapolated to other species. Indeed, the animal model does not take into account many specific human parameters such as smoking status, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, cancers, etc.

 

6. What are the forensic taphonomy facilities in the world involving human bodies

There are currently 8 forensic taphonomy institutions involving human bodies in the United States (University of Tennessee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Southern Illinois University, Colorado Mesa University, South Florida University, Sam Houston University, and San Marcos University), 1 in Australia (University of Technology Sydney), 1 in the Netherlands (Amsterdam University), and 1 in Canada (Université du Québec-Trois Rivières). SHIFT maintains close and privileged ties with most of these institutions.

 

7. How can I study or obtain an internship at SHIFT?

Swiss or foreign students wishing to specialize in taphonomy (physicians, scientists and post-graduate students with an interest in this field), can send their application to: shift@chuv.ch.

Taking into account the ethical dimensions and specific characteristics of taphonomic research, each application will be considered according to a rigorous protocol. Previous experience in forensic science is generally a prerequisite.

Please note that internships are unpaid.

FAQ - Swiss Human Institute of Forensic Taphonomy (SHIFT)

Présentation de l'unité Prestations de l'unité Formation et recherche

 

1.Qu’est-ce que la taphonomie médicolégale ?

La taphonomie médicolégale consiste en l’étude et l’utilisation des processus associés à la décomposition cadavérique pour la documentation et la résolution d’affaires médicolégales, tant à l’échelle locale (homicide, accident de montagne, …) qu’à l’échelle internationale (catastrophes de masse, climatiques et zones de conflit). Par exemple, ces processus sont étudiés et utilisés pour estimer un intervalle postmortem (délai entre le décès et la découverte du corps ou la localisation de fosses communes (conflits armés). 

La taphonomie médicolégale s’intègre dans de nombreuses disciplines scientifiques, relatif au corps proprement dit (anthropologie, médecine et imagerie forensiques, etc.), le corps en interaction avec le sol, autrement dénommé « ilot de décomposition » (toxicologie, génétiques, macro- et microbiologie forensiques, etc.), en lien avec la détection du corps (botanique, géologie et archéologie forensiques, sciences de la localisation, etc.). Les dimensions éthiques, socio-culturelles, humanitaires et juridiques sont également parties prenantes du processus par lequel la taphonomie oriente ses recherches. 

Taphonomie

 

2.A quoi sert la recherche en taphonomie médicolégale ?

Des évènements récents d’envergure mondiale ont mis en exergue la nécessité d’une recherche pragmatique pour améliorer les méthodologies de la recherche, la localisation et l’identification de victimes de catastrophes de masse d’origine naturelle. 

Ces phénomènes peuvent être de différentes natures, par exemple, lors d’éruptions volcaniques (volcan Ontake au Japon, 2014), de tsunamis (Sumatra en Indonésie, 2004), de séismes (Mexico au Mexique, 2017), d’inondations (Queensland en Australie, 2013) ou d’origine anthropique type catastrophe nucléaire (Fukushima au Japon, 2011), industrielle (Qitaihe en Chine, 2016) ou terroriste (New York - 11 septembre aux Etats Unis, 2001).

Les conséquences des conflits armés peuvent également intéresser de près la taphonomie forensique. En effet, ses méthodologies sont nécessaires pour les autorités et les investigations policières afin de localiser et/ou identifier des personnes disparues ou victimes d’homicide.

Les possibilités de mener des recherches idoines en Suisse et en Europe font malheureusement encore défaut. 

Le développement de la taphonomie est impératif pour mener à bien des études scientifiques permettant d'amener des réponses et ainsi contribuer à la résolution d’enquêtes que ce soit en Suisse ou ailleurs dans le monde, lorsqu’une collaboration d’intervention et d’assistance suisse est requise par des états proches ou lointains et impactés par des catastrophes de grande ampleur.

 

3.Comment donner son corps aux sciences médicolégales ?

Notre corps nous appartient. Il fait partie de notre identité et nous en disposons de sa pleine propriété. Ainsi, nous pouvons décider de notre vivant de ce qu’il adviendra de notre enveloppe charnelle dans le cadre d’un don de corps.

Depuis l’avènement de la science médicale, le don de corps a toujours été perçu comme un acte altruiste et désintéressé, qui permet de faire progresser les connaissances scientifiques et en faire bénéficier les générations futures. 

Vous pouvez trouver de plus amples informations sur le don de corps en cliquant sur le lien suivant : don de corps 

 

4.Pourquoi utiliser des corps humains ?

Actuellement, la plupart des scientifiques et des corps de police concernés utilisent des modèles animaux pour étudier les processus de décomposition. Même si ces recherches contribuent à établir de nouvelles connaissances, l’étude de corps humains apporte des connaissances uniques et non extrapolables avec d’autres espèces. En effet, le modèle animal ne prend pas en compte de nombreux paramètres spécifiquement humains tels que le statut tabagique, le diabète, les maladies cardiovasculaires, les cancers, etc.

 

5.Y a-t-il d’autres établissements de taphonomie médicolégale dans le monde impliquant des corps humains ?

Il existe actuellement 8 établissements de taphonomie médicolégale impliquant des corps humains aux Etats-Unis (University of Tennessee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Southern Illinois University, Colorado Mesa University, South Florida University, Sam Houston University et San Marcos University), 1 en Australie (University of Technology Sydney) et 1 aux Pays-Bas (Amsterdam University). Un autre établissement est également en cours d’ouverture au Canada (Université du Québec-Trois Rivières). Le SHIFT entretient des liens étroits et privilégiés avec la plupart de ces établissements.

 

6.Comment faire pour étudier ou obtenir un stage au SHIFT ?

Les étudiants suisses ou étrangers souhaitant se spécialiser dans la taphonomie (médecins, scientifiques et étudiants post gradués ayant un intérêt pour ce domaine), peuvent adresser leur demande à : shift@chuv.ch.

Tenant en compte les dimensions éthiques et les caractères spécifiques de la recherche en taphonomie, chaque demande sera considérée selon un protocole rigoureux. Une expérience préalable dans les sciences forensiques constitue généralement un pré-requis obligatoire.

Il est à noter que les stages ne sont pas rémunérés.