Anthropologie/Archeologie

Units presentation Units services

Research

SHIFT collaborators conduct research in anthropology/archaeology, genetics (environmental, plant and animal) and entomology. However, they are also active in other areas such as toxicology, imaging, disaster victim identification, etc. with the support of agreed partnerships.

(2020-2024)
 

Virtual reassociation of fragmented human remains (FHR) 
Management of Fragmented Human Remains - Improvement of Disaster Victim Identification Protocols (PhD supervisor: Pre Silke Grabherr, PhD supervisors: Dr. Negahnaz Moghaddam and Dr. Vincent Varlet - UNIGE: Lise Malfroy Camine)

The research aims at building a global protocol for a better management of fragmented human remains, especially in DVI (Disaster Victim Identification) situations. Innovative technologies of segmentation and virtual reassociation of the fragments of equipment will allow to improve their identification, to reduce the DNA analyses and the time necessary for their anthropological analysis. This multidisciplinary project is supported by DVI Switzerland, INTERPOL and the ICRC, and involves scientific collaboration with the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Aix-Marseille University (France) and Materialise NV.

 

Virtual Anthropology

As CT scans and 3D surface scans become more accurate and readily available, researchers around the world are interested in using these technologies to test and improve current methodologies used in forensic anthropology. At CURML, we test how the "virtual environment" compares to macroscopic observation, and determine which methods are best suited to it. Students and researchers are working on a variety of topics, such as age and sex determination from 3D CT and surface scans, or computerized reconstruction of fragmented bone in DVI settings. We also mobilize these techniques in our services.

Paleopathology

The health status of a population evolves according to the biological and socio-economic environment in which it lives. This is true for the past (archaeological) and modern (forensic) context. To understand why certain diseases and phenomena (infectious diseases, violence, etc.) affect our societies as they do today, we must understand them in their evolution, and thus study their frequency and manifestations in past and present populations. At CURML, we are conducting research on the health of the human population in the Lake Geneva region, from prehistory to the present day, and we are developing new protocols in this field by making good use of the imaging techniques at our disposal.

Anthropologie/Archeologie

Présentation de l'entité Prestations de l'entité

Recherche

Les collaborateurs de SHIFT mènent des travaux de recherche en anthropologie/archéologie, en génétique (environnementale, végétale et animale) et en entomologie. Cependant, ils sont également actifs dans d'autres domaines tels que la toxicologie, l'imagerie, l'identification des victimes de catastrophes, etc. avec le soutien de partenariats accordés.
 

(2020-2024)
 

Réassociation virtuelle de restes humains fragmentés (FHR) 
Gestion des restes humains fragmentés - Amélioration des protocoles d'identification des victimes de catastrophes (direction de thèse : Pre Silke Grabherr, directeurs de thèse :  Dre Negahnaz Moghaddam et Dr Vincent Varlet, PhD - UNIGE : Lise Malfroy Camine)

La recherche vise à construire un protocole global pour une meilleure gestion des restes humains fragmentés, notamment en situation de DVI (Disaster Victim Identification). Des technologies innovantes de segmentation et de réassociation virtuelle des fragments d'appareillage permettront d'améliorer leur identification, de réduire les analyses ADN et le temps nécessaire à leur analyse anthropologique. Ce projet pluridisciplinaire est soutenu par DVI Suisse, INTERPOL et le CICR, et implique une collaboration scientifique avec l'Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Aix-Marseille Université (France) et Materialise NV.

 

Anthropologie virtuelle

Les tomodensitogrammes et les scans de surface en 3D sont de plus en plus précis et faciles d'accès, et les chercheurs du monde entier s'intéressent à l'utilisation de ces technologies pour tester et améliorer les méthodologies actuelles utilisées en anthropologie médico-légale. Au CURML, nous testons comment l'"environnement virtuel" se compare à l'observation macroscopique, et déterminons les méthodes qui lui sont le mieux adaptées. Les étudiants et les chercheurs travaillent sur des sujets variés, tels que la détermination de l'âge et du sexe à partir de tomographies et de scans de surface en 3D, ou la reconstruction informatisée d'os fragmentés dans des contextes d'IVC. Nous mobilisons également ces techniques dans nos services.

Paléopathologie

L'état de santé d'une population évolue en fonction de l'environnement biologique et socio-économique dans lequel elle vit. Ceci est vrai pour le contexte passé (archéologique) et moderne (médico-légal). Pour comprendre pourquoi certaines maladies et certains phénomènes (maladies infectieuses, violence, etc.) affectent nos sociétés comme elles le font aujourd'hui, il faut les comprendre dans leur évolution, et donc étudier leur fréquence et leurs manifestations dans les populations passées et présentes. Au CURML, nous menons des recherches sur la santé de la population humaine de la région lémanique, de la préhistoire à nos jours, et nous développons de nouveaux protocoles dans ce domaine en utilisant à bon escient les techniques d'imagerie à notre disposition.